top of page
  • funkkatherine

One Pattern, Two Totally Different Dresses

I find that there is something really satisfying about seeing garments that have the same structure but look completely different due to fabric, prints, and decoration. I constantly use the same patterns over and over again, and I love seeing how different I can make them. Using a pattern that you have already used before makes sewing so much easier - you already know that it fits you perfectly, and you know how to put the pieces together easily. Here are just a few repeating garments that I have made. There are so many others that I have made, and I have often 'frankensteined' patterns together, using the skirt from one, the bodice from another, and sleeves from a third.


Starting off with this gorgeous Vintage Vogue pattern (V8999) that I admired for years before I got it. This pattern has a 20 (!) panel skirt with an empire waist line and all-in-one sleeve. When I made it the first time out of silk (picture on the right), I immediately fell in love with the elegant skirt. It fit me with almost no alterations to the original pattern, so I had to make an every day version of it out of a cotton twill gingham. I am so glad that I did this because although the silk dress is beautiful, I can't wear it very often. Plus, I love that the gingham version looks a bit like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz. (See more photos of the gingham dress here, and the silk dress here)


This pattern is a vintage 1940's pattern that I chose years ago to make as my graduation dress. I did not end up making this dress for my graduation since I was not able to find the fabric that I wanted, but I have made it many times since then! The first time I made it I used a lovely, drapey wool (photo on the right) and made a matching jacket from a different pattern. This dress is very simple, but I find it incredibly comfortable and easy to wear, and I think the silhouette is so beautiful! I have used the 4 piece skirt so many times, and I made a sleeveless version of the dress out of a cotton twill last summer. I have also made another version of it this summer, so keep your eyes out for that! (See more photos of the cotton twill version here)


I love dirndls and the Patterns By Gertie (through Butterick) version is lovely. The first time I made this pattern was actually out of a quilting cotton and includes puffed sleeves and a ruffle around the bottom, but I was unable to find photos of it. I then made a sleeveless version out of a cotton that I printed myself (photo on the right) with a coordinating apron. I really wanted a more formal version, so this winter I made a silk dirndl with a cartridge pleated skirt and a back V neckline. I love that all of my dirndls look totally different and serve different purposes! Now I want to make a high necked version in wool... You can never have too many dirndls, right? (See more photos of the silk dirndl here)


This is another Patterns By Gertie pattern (B6094), and so far I have made it twice and I am thinking of making it again! I absolutely love the deep V back neckline, and it is so nice to have full and slim skirt styles to choose from! Last summer I made it from a fun cotton quilt fabric (photo on the left), and I wear it tons through the warm days. It is so easy to throw on, and looks great with heels or sandals. This summer I decided to make the slim skirt style out of an unbleached linen, and I added a little ruffle around the neckline and lace around the hem. I love how different these two dresses look, and they are so comfortable! (See more photos of the A-line dress here, and the linen dress here)


The last ones I will show today is this 1950's sheath. I love a simple sheath, and I think that this pattern is so unique because it does not have a waist seam. In the photo on the right, the dress is made of a wool blend. I also made a matching jacket and cigarette pants to make a sort of suit. I sold this dress a few years ago, and I am still really pleased with how it came out. The second time I made it out of a cotton twill, and it is a great dress for work. I find it really comfortable, and I love that I can layer sweaters and shirts underneath to completely change the look. (See more photos of the twill version here)


Do you reuse your patterns or do you prefer to try new ones for each project?


Thanks for reading!


~Katherine


bottom of page