top of page
  • funkkatherine

1950's Summer Dress


I have been on a roll lately with projects! After being so satisfied with the finished product of my 1940's suit, I was ready to start something new. This pattern is from Patterns by Gertie, and only took me two days altogether to make! It is a boatneck bodice with front darts and a V back (with lovely sailor collar detailing), attached to a full circle skirt. I also added in pockets that match the red back detail.

This was a perfect palate cleanser in between the more technical suit and the fancier dresses that I have planned for the future. The inside is just finished with a serger and no lining, so it will be perfect to wear during the summer.

The adorable fabric is from our local quilt shop. They have been offering curb-side pick-ups, which was very lucky for me. I have been admiring this adorable (and slightly kitschy) roller-blade pattern for a few years now, and I finally was able to get some.


I have loved kitschy, 1950's inspired fabrics for a very long time, and I have made a few over the years. The best places to get these types of cotton are at quilt stores, and quilting cotton is so lovely to sew with. This one was very easy to iron (something that I greatly appreciated, since ironing is not my favourite step in the sewing process) and the pattern was small enough that I didn't feel the need to attempt any pattern matching.


We took the photos in a few places around Airdrie, and it was a very sunny day for photos. Although the sun was great to stand around in, it made it very difficult to get photos! Despite that, I love that we were able to get photos at the train car that is at our local museum.



I have been on a real fashion documentary kick lately, and I have seen some fabulous ones while making this dress. First of all, The First Monday in May documentary was brilliantly done and a perfect thing to watch while putting the final touches on this dress. It focuses on the Met Gala, going behind the scenes on the China: Through the Looking Glass gala in 2015.



There are many other gorgeous documentaries like that one that I have watched recently. For example, Dior just put up one about the exhibit in Paris on youtube (which you can watch here), House of Z is a beautiful one about Zac Posen, and Dior and I follows Raf Simmons first collection for Dior.

These have all given me so much inspiration lately, and I would highly recommend all of them if you have any interest in fashion.



Thank you so much for reading! I hope everyone is staying safe and comfortable at home.


~K




bottom of page