top of page
  • funkkatherine

Chocolate Babka


I have been an avid baker for many years, but the combination of living on my own for the first time (and therefore having my own kitchen) and the pandemic has made me into a nearly obsessive baker. I have discovered a love for recipes that will take me hours, or in this case, days. To 'create' this recipe, I drew from four or five of the top rated babka recipes that I could find online (mostly using Pioneer Woman's, New York Times, and Sugar Loves Spices recipes for ingredients and proportions). I chose to fill mine with Nutella and chocolate chips, something that I saw on a cooking show recently. It turned out so well, and I am very pleased to have a new bread recipe in my arsenal.

If you also enjoy spending many hours in your kitchen, I have included the recipe here:

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp yeast

2Tbsp warm milk (I microwaved it in a small bowl for about 10 seconds)

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp salt

3 eggs (room temperature)

2/3 cup butter or margarine (room temperature)

Instructions:

  1. Add the yeast to a small bowl with the warm milk and let sit about 10 minutes

  2. In a larger bowl, mix together the dry ingredients and slowly add the eggs. It is recommended that you mix this together in a stand mixer, but since I don't have one I did everything by hand with a fork.

  3. Add the yeast mixture after adding the eggs, making sure to scrape down the sides regularly.

  4. On a low speed, add the butter/margarine about 1/6 of a cup at a time. If you have a stand mixer, mix this on medium for at least 15 minutes, or until it is shiny, smooth, and pulled away from the sides of the bowl. You really can't overmix this, so just be patient while mixing. Since I was doing it by hand, it took me about half and hour until it was done.

  5. Lightly oil the bowl and cover in plastic wrap, then a clean towel. Let this rise for an hour (it should be doubled in size).

  6. Punch down the dough, then put in the fridge overnight.

  7. The next morning, punch the dough down again, then shape into a rectangle. Spread an even layer of Nutella. You can also add chocolate chips or nuts at this point, if desired. Roll into a log, then cut lengthwise down the center. Braid/twist the two sides together and fold the ends underneath, then transfer into a paper lined loaf pan.

  8. Bake at 375F for 25-30 minutes.

If you need ideas of what to do while waiting for your delicious babka, I would suggest sewing, reading, watching movies (The Fall is a favourite of mine), drawing, going for a walk, or snuggling cats.


Enjoy!


~Katherine


bottom of page