top of page
  • funkkatherine

Welcome!



Welcome to my first post on this new website! I have been thinking about moving websites for a while now, and I thought now would be the perfect time. If you followed my previous blog (which you can see here), you will know that I am a history major and seamstress/designer based in Calgary, Alberta. I love vintage and historical clothing, so most of my designs are inspired by that.

I am currently working on a new collection (that will hopefully be released this summer, but may be pushed back due to...well, you all know why), and I have been sewing like mad with all of the time that I now have on my hands.

I also started a fun new project yesterday that I can't wait to get more photos of! A few years ago I was given a fabulous gift from a family friend. It was a pattern for a blazer and matching skirt, all the pieces cut out in my size by her mother in the 1980's. This project has been 40 years in the making, and it has been so much fun finishing it for her. Especially since she did my least favourite part in the sewing process for me! The little kit also had the lace seam binding and matching thread that she had bought at the time, so the whole time that I have been sewing it has felt like rummaging through a time capsule.

Unfortunately I don't have any progress photos (yet-I just started sewing it a few days ago), but I have been filming some of the process and I am hoping to do a Making Of video for it once it's finished.


Thank you everyone who has been patient and come here from my last website, and thank you to all the new readers! I am so excited to show all of the million (6, but it feels like a million) projects that I have been working on the last few weeks.


~K

bottom of page