top of page
  • funkkatherine

1940's Styled Wool Dress


You might recognize this blazer from one of my earlier posts-- I had just enough fabric left of this wool to cut out a 1940's styled dress. This wool was gifted to me and had been purchased in the 80's, and I was thrilled when I realized that I could make a third piece for my suit.

Unfortunately, after completely finishing the dress I decided that it was not at all my style. I used a Gertie pattern for this that I had loved and wanted to make for ages, but once I had actually made it I discovered that my style has changed since then. Obviously it doesn't help that it is a bit too large in the bust and waist, but I chose to leave it like that so I can sell it.


This is a knee length dress with gathering at the bust and short, gathered sleeves. I lost pretty much all motivation after trying it on and not loving it, as you can probably tell with all of the wrinkles that I left in the fabric for the photoshoot.

Oh well, you win some, you lose some.


I think that I would say that this is the hardest part about sewing sometimes-- putting a ton of effort into a garment that you don't end up loving. However, I am pretty proud of the inside finishing touches, since I spent quite a bit of time making it look nice. Whatever the outcome, I am glad that I had the opportunity for learning.

If you are a fan of clothing from the early/mid-1940's, this dress is for sale! I suppose that I have not been marketing it particularly well in this post (marketing is not my strong suit), but it will be up on my Etsy account here:)

Thanks for reading!


~K

bottom of page