top of page
  • funkkatherine

The Pool of Tears - 1930s Alice in Wonderland Dress



In the last few years, Alice in Wonderland prints have been quite popular in fabric and I have been loving it! Last year I made 2 shirt dresses with a few prints from the Tula Pink Alice in Wonderland collection, and a flannel wrap dress out of the Disney version of Alice in Wonderland. I love all of these dresses and wear them constantly and I have been surprised at how many people have noticed the prints, even when they are small and subtle. When I found this rayon from Rifle Paper Company, it became my new favourite take on Alice in Wonderland.





This print shows all of the important locations in the story, each of them labelled. There is the rose trees, the Duchess' House, the Royal Gardens, the Mad Hatters Tea Set, and more. It is so fun to get up close to this fabric and just admire all of the little details and to compare them to the book.




I decided to make a 1930s styled dress out of this fabric for a few reasons. One is that I made this pattern out of a different fabric this summer but I made it a tiny bit too small, so I rarely wear that dress even though I absolutely love the shape of it. I also wanted to choose a pattern with generally simple seam lines so that the pattern didn't get cut up too much. Additionally, since I made this dress with French Seams, I wanted the seams to be pretty straight.





The peter pan collar of this dress really adds to the Alice in Wonderland theme! I also found these fabulous blue flower buttons from the 1960s in my stash and they reminded me of the iconic scene where they were painting the roses (even though those roses were white and being painted red).

This rayon is incredibly soft, with slightly less drape and weight than the rayon from Northcott Textiles (the only other type of rayon I have sewn with so far), so it was a bit less slippery. I absolutely love rayon and could make a million more rayon dresses, so I am so thrilled about this one and I know that it will get a ton of wear. It is also very handy since it can be worn over tights without getting too staticky or sticking to the tights, so this is an all-weather type of dress.


Thank you so much for reading!


~Katherine


bottom of page