top of page
  • funkkatherine

How to Wear a 1940's Inspired Dress



Before I go into this post, I wanted to mention something extremely important that we have all been seeing, hearing about, and maybe participating in. This post was written more than a month ago, but I wanted to speak about the Black Lives Matter movement before talking about something as silly as the little video that I made.

I won't say too much, since my voice is not the one that should be heard, but I wanted to leave a few links to pages that have helped me understand and help the protests going on all over the world. I fully support that protests that have been going on, and I want to do as much as I can to help change how the system currently works.

To begin with, you can donate to BLM by streaming this youtube video if you do not have the funds to donate (make sure to watch all of the ads fully- you can mute the video and have it on in the background while you work on other things). Here the Shawn Foundation has compiled a list of resources and reading material about racial injustice. There is a great list of YA books by black authors here and another list with all genres here. The official George Floyd Memorial Fund is here if you are interested in donating, and Black Lives Matter have lots of links to resources, petitions, and places to donate here.

The rest of this post is what I wrote last month about this dress, but I hope that you will take a minute to support an organization or educate yourself.



Today's style post is with my 1940's styled, eco-friendly dress that I made as a part of my Future Oceans collection. This dress has become one of my favourites that I have made so far--I love this length and style of skirt, and the colour makes it so easy to put with other items in my closet.



This dress was made using an eco-friendly cotton sateen with some slight stretch. The skirt is mid-calf length and A-line, and the top has wide straps that cross at the back. The dress also features topstitching on the straight neckline.



In the video, I paired it with:

(Look 1): A soft pink, long-sleeve sweater underneath and lavender heels.

(Look 2): A mens collared work shirt (tied at the waist), black heeled boots (I prefer structured boots, but any mid-calf to knee length boot looks really nice with a long skirt), and a black purse.

(Look 3): Waist-length cardigan (this one is from Aritzia and is seriously my favourite piece in my whole wardrobe), red heels and red purse.

(Look 4): A more casual look with a military styled jacket, sneakers, camo green purse and sunnies.


Thank you so much for reading (and watching)!


~K

bottom of page