top of page
  • funkkatherine

4 Ways to Wear Retro Styled Trousers


I have been really enjoying some of the videos on Instagram that people upload that give outfit inspiration, so I thought that I would put a little something together for those that need some help with assembling an outfit using vintage or vintage inspired pieces.

The trousers that I featured in this video were created completely from scratch by me in fashion school last year and made using 100% wool.



The style was inspired by 1940's trousers that I found in magazines that were marketing to young women working in factories. They have a slightly lowered crotch (like many vintage trousers up until the 1950's), a yoke, front pleats, pockets, and a fly closure. They have been hemmed a bit longer so that I can wear them with heels, and they have turned out to be far more versatile than I thought they would be. I was worried that the camo green that I chose would be difficult to pair with my tops, but I haven't had any issues with that so far.



In the video, I have paired them with:

(Look 1): A ruffled, off-the-shoulder cotton cropped top, strappy heeled sandals, and a white purse.

(Look 2): A cropped t-shirt (you could have the same look with a regular t-shirt that has been tucked in), a denim jacket, a canvas tote, and sneakers.

(Look 3): A black turtle-neck that has been tucked in, black kitten-heels, a faux-fur vest (obviously this can be replaced with a nice coat or sweater), and a red purse.

(Look 4): A mustard sweater that I french-tucked in (tuck in at the front but leave the back loose), a long, tailored coat, brown heeled mary-janes, and a caramel purse.


These photos were taken at Sentimental Journey Antiques, in Nanton, Alberta. The owners were kind enough to let us take them in this beautiful old building that was used as residence for officers during World War Two. The photos show some of the details that you can't see in the video, such as the topstitching and waistband.


I had so much fun with this video and looking through the old photos that we got of these trousers! Let me know if you would like to see more!


Thanks for reading,


~K

bottom of page